MPCNC, Arduino Uno, CNC Shield and homing

Hello Everyone,

Im totally new to the world of CNC machines, always wanted one, always too cheap, found the MPCNC… ya know it :slight_smile:

Now I basically have the machine mostly ready, the frame is set up, axis are moving nicely, etc… but Im really struggling to set up a homing position however. My plan was to use the Arduino Uno and a CNC Shield V3, which generally works great so far.

Looking from the front at the machine, I want it to home top left, so that should be X- and Y+ right?
Thats how I connected the limit switches I want to use for homing, I dont care about endstops really.

I went an edited the GRBL config.h to exclude Z homing because I later want to use a Z probe, and also set the homing position to $23=1, according to the GRBL docs.
I also disabled Hard limits in GRBL with $21=0.

Now the Axis themself move into the right direction, I think, X+ moves to the right, X- moves to the left, Y+ moves to the back, Y- moves to the front when I stand infront the machine.
But when I hit the home button in CNCJS it moves into the very other directions looking for a homing/limit switch…

At this point Im kinda lost and have no idea what I missed in the configuration…

I hope someone can help me here :slight_smile:

thank you and stay safe everyone :slight_smile:
cheers

I feel like you’re going to have trouble using top-left as your home position.

You have X+ right and Y+ away (which both match the standard convention :+1: ) but I think that makes bottom-left the logical choice for your home position.

1 Like

You may also want to consider parking vs homing.

The Uno only has 3 drivers so you need to start with hard stops to square first ?

@merrittgene Could you explain why Im going to have trouble with top left as my home position?
I choose that because of how the Z-AXIS is set up, like in that image (not my machine).