MPCNC Plasma

I love this machine :slight_smile:

https://youtu.be/zxdziLFo3-w

Just need to dial in settings now

Oh man I need to get a plasma!

My brain is going wild with ideas of what to make now :).

I’m totally new to plasma cutting, and would love if someone could give me a bit of advice on feed rates and amps for different materials and thicknesses.

I noticed that the two small circles were a bit oblong. I’m wondering if I was going too fast. I was using 15mm/s feed at 40 amps on 3mm steel. I was getting a cut width of about 1mm, so in the tools of estlcam I made a 1mm bit profile. Is this the correct thing to do?

I had this in the start cut section of estlcam:

G01 z0 f200
M106
g4 s0.7

But it doesn’t seem to have paused after starting torch. Is that not what g4 s0.7 does?

Cheers.

I haven’t had any experience with a plasma on a cnc, only free hand. I would set the tool path to the thickness of your kerf.

g4, yup that is 0.7 seconds. Did you place it in the plasma section?

About the oval. First thing I would say is check your pulleys, and make sure you start your machine square by measuring from the rollers to the corners and matching the pairs.

lol, I had to lookup the meaning of kerf :slight_smile:

Yeah I put the g4 in the plasma section. Might extend it a bit.

I think you might be rite. I don’t think I started the machine square for that cut. There is a good bit of flex with it. Might try the dual endstops.

Is there a way of zeroing the origin point through the lcd, or can it only be done through computer?

Thanks.

There are a couple of options. The simplest is to just reset the controller (or cycle power to it). A more complex route is to change the menu in the firmware to replace one of the custom menu items with the “G92 Z0 X0 Y0” command - search for CUSTOM_USER_MENUS in Configuration_adv.h.