MPCNC Tubing Lenght

Hi my name is Moe and new to this forum. I’m a retired Machinist but have no experience in CNC programmable machine. All my shop equipment were mechanically operated. So being in RC Modeling for many years, I decided to build a MPCNC. I will have not problem doing the assembly, however the programing to make every thing work will surely be a challenge. I’m planning to make my CNC capable to cut 24" X 48" using 1" stainless tubing. My first question is how much wider and longer should be my tubing be so to have enough travel room for the cutting head to do a 24" X 48" cut? Planning to purchase the Vicious 1 printed part kit 25.4 mm

Hi Moe,

Since you will be using a foam cutter as a tool that size should be okay, but typically a smaller machine makes the CAM side of things easier.

There are calculators on this page, https://www.v1engineering.com/assembly/conduit-rails-tubes-pipes/

That should get your really close you just need to know if your intended tool will need some extra room. If you ask of of the foam cutting gurus they might be able to tell you if/how much extra room you need.

The software isn’t too bad, most of us have stumbled through it and have ended up learning a lot. Now the software is easier than ever to use and most the kinks have been worked out of the hardware, software, firmware. Luckily I think Jason has done a few walk through’s from design to cutting of foam parts so that will make things really easy for you.

Good luck

Thanks Ryan for your reply. Second Question is that I would also like to be able to use a 3D printing head and what I read the shorter the XYZ the better. So that said I was going to build it frame 24" X 48" but decided to go 24" X 36" , would that work for 3D printing? Or should I build a second smaller dimension MPCNC for 3D printing? Moe

Build it for a specific purpose, and then see how another purpose fits your chosen machine dimensions.