Musk is going to nuke Mars xD

As an engineer, I just have an interest in how he’ll do this (which he will not definitely) and how it will help humanity on Mars?Elon Musk came with an interesting but controversial idea. The idea proposed making Mars fit for life and subsequent colonization with the help of thermonuclear weapons. On the air of the program, Musk reflected on space travel and ways to colonize Mars. What do you think about it? According to the CEO of SpaceX, colonists on the red planet will have to live in transparent houses until their atmosphere becomes suitable for human habitation. Raising the temperature in the atmosphere of Mars is possible by the nuclear bombardment of the poles, and increasing the concentration of greenhouse gases is a slow way. With the help of SpaceX high resolution cubesat cameras, he wants to film that and show it all around the world. This is a big deal that we can theoretically record such things but I wonder who’ll give him permission to do that? Really mad man but will see how it goes :rofl:

It would certainly be cheaper than just bombarding the planet with comets shipped in from the Oort cloud, but I’d be somewhat leery of the long term exposure risks to any settlers…

The nuke the ice caps idea has been around for a long time. I think Kyle Hill even had a video on the subject. Pretty sure it was just one of Elon’s thinking out loud things he does during interviews. Bill’s right, dropping rocks onto the caps would be better, but we don’t have the technology to do that yet.

Underground tunnels would be a fine habitat that doesn’t require massive amounts of materials to be imported. A human ant colony is not sexy but to me it seems highly practical. Robots do 99% of the surface work while the operators are comfortable and safe underground.

Now if only someone were working on an economical means of boring underground tunnels…

There is a lot of room underground here on earth. Just sayin’.

2 Likes

Absolutely.