NEJE Laser to be used with RAMBo 1.4a and Estlcam

Hi:

I am wanting to use a NEJE A40640 laser with my RAMBo 1.4a board.
I see there is a post regarding the 1.4a board and laser control but it is old and I am not sure if there has been updates since this previous post.
I am new to a laser integration and I am sorry if I ask something that was asked before

My questions are:

Will the 1.4a board be usable for a laser and in specific the NEJE A40640 ?
I know Ryan said in an earlier post that all lasers are wired differently, but just fishing to see if anyone has used this particular laser.

I am also wanting to know if there are settings in estlcam to be able to turn on and off the laser, set power, etc.

If there is any other information I can read on the integration of a laser to the RAMBo 1.4a board on the V1 site that would be helpful.

That is the laser I’m running and Yes it work.
Pin=45 that is.
On my MP3DP "Repat Build Thread
You can see a Part that I cut using the laser on the MPCNC with a Rambo board

Thank you so much
Your help is greatly appreciated

I run this laser with a full Rambo board. As long as you have a later version of the V1 maintained Marlin firmware installed, it is pretty much plug and play at this point . Around version 510, V1 enabled Marlin laser support for just the Rambo and SKR Pro boards…boards they sell and therefore could test. The laser connects to pin 45 on the board (left middle pin in this diagram) and any of the indicated ground pins:

This firmware and this pin will drive the laser using inline commands and M3/M5 commands.

As for software to drive the laser, I highly recommend LightBurn. It is a paid app ($60), but there is a 30-day trial. I’m sure you can get the laser to function with other CAM solutions, but doing laser jobs with them will be a slog. I found LightBurn to be a joy to use.

2 Likes

I’m not sure how well ESTLCam works with lasers.