New/1st Build in South FLA

Hello All,

I am a mechanical engineer by trade down in sunny south FLA, currently working in the medical manufacturing industry. Some 10 years back, I was working at another contract manufacturer where I ran prototypes and limited production on a full sheet ShopBot brand router. That job was alot of fun and I always dreamed about having a machine of my own. However, the cost and time investment of designing and building something from scratch outweighed the fun and sense of accomplishment that would come with it, especially once kids arrived. So once I saw the MPCNC I knew such a machine was finally within reach.

I have been working on this for about 2 weeks now. I have all the printing completed, using a stock Creality Ender 3. I chose PETG for almost all of the clamping parts as this machine will live in a hot, humid garage and I know PLA will get brittle out there. That cost me some more print time as the stock Ender 3 REALLY doesn’t like to print PETG quickly. The rest is good 'ole PLA.

I chose a 2’x4’ (working area) layout. I really wanted 1/4" sheet capability, especially since this machine is displacing the physical location of my table saw, so it will be harder for me to cut stock down to size. Despite the cost limitation, I can now buy the project panels from the big box stores, or even have them rip the sheets down for me. Same goes for spoil boards. I designed my own mid span supports for the 5’ rail. Nothing ground breaking.

My electronics arrive in the mail today, so I’m excited to get on with it! My first project will be a plywood belt guide to add slow motion control to the altitude axis of my 8" reflector telescope. I’m hoping to keep this thing cranking out cool stuff regularly.

Using straight up EMT conduit, with a scotch brite finish applied.

5 Likes

Parts:

2 Likes