New build in central Illinois

I ordered my printed parts and a few other items today from the shop. I had most of the other parts required already. I am planning on trying with the ramps board I have on hand first but I may order a RAMB0 board at some point. I really was on the fence about whether to buy a 3d printer so I could make my parts first or buy the parts from Ryan so I could build my MPCNC first. I think I still need to buy a 3d printer so I can print a few custom options, so if anyone has a recommendation for a first 3d printer please feel free to let me know. I have been doing woodworking for several years now and have been wanting a CNC for a while and the MPCNC will hopefully allow me to make some things that I just have not been able to do before. I am sure that I will have questions during my build process and I will update this post with pictures as I go. I just wanted to say hi to everyone and I am looking forward to joining the community.

1 Like

Welcome to the club! Since you are building the MPCNC first, why not follow it up with the MP3DP? I haven’t built one yet personally but I believe people have been getting pretty good results out of them. I had the same contemplation as you did, but I chose to get the printer first and bought a Prusa MK2S. It’s a pretty awesome printer. Pricey but the thing just works and works well.

I agree with Johnny.

If you wanted a printer for a beginner, as in works great with very little tinkering, then the original prusa is the best. The mk2s is still better than any printer but the mk3.

If you want a printer for a beginner, as in something that works well, but you learn as you go and can upgrade it customize things as you go, the MP3DP is a good choice too. And since you will soon be able to cut the wood pieces yourself, you can make it your own with your own style or changes.

Welcome.