New Build in Frisco TX

Maybe a little premature to be posting already but… it has begun! I’m excited.

I’m also new to 3d printing as well… Turns out masking tape was a bad idea. I’ll try hairspray for the next piece.

I’ll be printing on a CR-10 (bowden tube style) in Hatchbox PLA. I’ve settled on Cura as my slicer for now. Running 0.2 layer height and 0.5 extrusion width, 3 walls and top/bottom, linear infill pattern, 40 mm/s print speed, 3.5mm retraction @ 40mm/s (microswiss hotend). Any comments or suggestions on these settings let me know!

Welcome!

There is something specific in the brand name blue tape that works better than plain brown, and the hairspray is a similar thing, it has to be a specific type.

1 Like

I didn’t know that about the tape. This roll of tape actually came with the printer, all Chinese lettering and everything. The PLA sticks really well, too well. With as much surface area as this piece had on the build plate it’s just a PITA to get the tape off the part.

Based on my what I’ve read I’ll be trying some Aqua Net hairspray in the purple can.

That tape probably has the right stuff in it. If it sticks too well, you can soak it in alcohol in a tupperware and it will dissolve enough you can rub it off.

Would the PLA not react to the alcohol? I thought I read people use it to chemically smooth their prints.

How big it’s your printer.

CR-10 Mini -> Build volume: 300x220x300mm (11.8x8.66x11.8 in.)

Welcome from the small town of Wylie.

I use the cheap spray hairspray and it works well. I also like to use glue sticks. I never had luck with masking tape either.

That’s acetone, and ABS. isopropal alcohol doesn’t affect it.

Screw it! I’m barebacking it

I have to say there is something very satisfying about the fit of the conduit here. Not snug but zero play (that I can tell at the moment anyway)