New build in Sussex, UK

Hi everyone,
I’m a software engineer, radio control flying enthusiast and ex-Robot Wars guy, building an MPCNC mainly to cut foam board to build Flite Test models, and probably milling balsa and plywood parts occasionally, and hopefully other projects as they occur - I really like the multi-purpose nature of this machine.

So far I have steel conduit from Screwfix, bolts from the local fixing shop, bearings that claim to be ‘ABEC-9’ but were £3 for 10, and am most of the way though printing parts on the cheapest printer I could find on ebay.

3D printing has been a bit of a steep learning curve and I probably should have paid a bit more for a printer, as the bed is bent and only heated in the middle, so it won’t print the XYZ plate without the corners peeling up. There’s a new bed on the way, and some new rails as I’m sure I shouldn’t be able to rattle the bearings.

I’m still waiting for a RAMPS, motors and belt to arrive, and some more filament, but I have some rollers sliding along the conduit, and all the legs assembled.

Oh, I struggled with the M4 bolts in the legs. Nylock nuts just needed too much torque for either jamming a screwdriver alongside the nut, or the printed nut inserts. Instead I discovered that the nut sockets are 8mm across the flats, which fits an M5 nut nicely. I drilled the holes to 5mm and warmed up the bolt heads to help them bed into their sockets.

Now, how do I add a photo?

3 Likes

It’s the little arrow up coming out of a rectangle on the editing tools ribbon.

Sounds like you have some good skills.

Have you run across @dkj4linux foam ripper needle cutter? It’s pretty cool.

Great, thanks! For some reason I hadn’t connected ‘upload’ with images…

There are lots of pictures of familiar pieces lined up neatly, so here’s a messy work-in-progress picture instead. Today’s job was adding lights and a cooling fan to the printer because it was struggling with even the moderate overhangs of the MPCNC.