New engineering student here

Ello all:)

Im new here and to the cnc world, that includes 3d printers. I am almost done with my ME and im looking for something OTHER than THEORY!! I have had alot of classes and hardly any hands on. So i am taking matters into me own hands.

I started printing the stl files from the following page:

https://www.v1engineering.com/blog/parts

I will be using the 23.5 3/4inch EMT style. Where my question lies, the links to the motherboards are dead. I have no idea what to search for or buy for the controller. I have seen many ramps 1.4 + mega 2560 boards out there with 5 stepper drivers. in fact i was buying one for a 3d printer of mine. Well this $35 board work? if so, how well will it work?

Bare in mind, i have no knowledge of this stuff. im starting from ground ZERO!! i just found out that i had to adjust voltages on my tevo tornado 3d printer and that took a minute to figure out haha

thank you for your time, patience and kindness as i learn

Not sure what is in stock on the V1 engineering shop, but buying a board from Ryan that is flashed with the firmware is a good place to start.

https://shop.v1engineering.com/collections/parts

Good luck with the build.

Off topic but I’d highly recommend doing some extracurricular activities at your school before you graduate. I learned way more that is applicable to the real world in my extracurricular programs than I did in my classes, and it was that experience that actually got me jobs.