New New Zealand Build

Hey,

I printed the lowrider at the start of this year, but have only got around to finding a cnc to mill the mdf parts in the last couple of months. It’s now fully assembled and I’m still trying to get down to the basics, but it does seem fairly successful so far.

I’ve mounted it on a cheap ping pong table which seems to work fairly well. I’m only using one half at the moment so it’s a bit wobbly on one end, but once I find the space for it, I’ll be using the full length which should stabilise it a bit.

The photos are a bit lacking as I’ve only just found time while on holiday to post about it.

Router is a cheap INGCO 500w 230v thing, the plan was to upgrade it once I had worked out the quirks with the lowrider, but in all honesty, it fits the lowrider perfectly, I’ve got at hooked up to a 500w dinner (I’m an electrician and I can’t agree with doing that at all) and the speed control arms to work reasonably well, as in there is torque at the lower end. It also blows downwards on the work piece so removes cup at the same time.

I’m mostly looking at cutting MDF and 1.5mm polycarbonate.

At the present I’m using straight single flute bits, 3.4mm and 6ish mm, but it can leave me with a bit of a rough edge.

I have a ping pong table in the basement. I thought about using it, but it’s got some water damage.

Is the low rider any good at ping pong?

Thanks for sharing. Looks great.

Heck yes looks great. I doubt you will need to go to a more powerful spindle so only do if it if you manage to bog it down. I have been running my 611 at 1-3 on the speed dial so it can’t be pushing too many watts at that level.

So I’m looking at rebuilding this soon, it’s been operating but I’ve now noticed I’ve made a few errors, I thought I’d post them here so others embarking on this journey can keep it in mind.

• I’ve recently realised I’ve purchased the incorrect steppers, as in not the 83oz ones - I think that explains the occasional missing steps.