New problem with Marlin, auto home not working

Im ready to trash this thing already. Nine out of ten time the auto home wont work with one or two motors not working. Then it will auto home correctly. But the one time it does that, when i go to run a program, it will jerk inward beyond the stops and not move from there. I have successfully run some carves but now its nothing but problems. Im fairly new to this and am out of ideas. Thanks for any help.

Greg,

I’ve been on the forum for a couple years, and when others have the same problem it is often one of these issues:

Wiring/connectors are intermittent, or if they are not shielded, there is some random EMF that is leaking into the wiring causing the signals to get garbled.

Are you running a vacuum hose near the wiring? the static buildup can also mess up the signals.

What controller board are you using, have you checked the Dupont connectors to insure they are making good contact at the board?

I’m sure several others will chime in with additional areas to check.

Mike B.

I’d start with any part of the physical wiring that moves when the machine moves.

I recently had problems on a 3D printer that had been running fine for years. Turned out the tape that held the dupoint extension to the Y motor connector had let go, allowing just enough movement in the connection that homing the Y axis failed occasionally. As soon as I replaced that tape, everything went back to normal.