New to all this - asking for advice

Good afternoon all.

I have been a hobby woodworker with about 15 yrs. I have wanted to get into CNC carving etc. for some time but have always been put off by the cost. Seeing the price of the kits available here, it now seems more within my reach - however, I have absolutely no idea where to start. I purchased a laser engraver (Sculpfun S9) a couple of months ago but other than that have no experience with design software.

I make a lot of cutting boards and like the idea of carving and/or inlaying logos into them.

So my questions:

1. What kit should I consider? I really would prefer a ā€˜completeā€™ kit that includes everything needed.
  2. I am confused by the size options - 25.4mm, 25mm etc. Can you help me understand this?
  3. How difficult are the kits to assemble.
  4. Do the kits come with the design/CAD software? If not what is the best/easiest/most versatile to use? I have been slowly learning LightBurn with the laser engraver.

I sure all these questions have been asked many times before - so please feel free to just point me to another thread.

Thank you for your time and patience.

Ian

2 Likes

Hello and welcome Ian,

Hereā€™s my thought on the subject of which design to use. The designs by Ryan are all very brilliant of course, and we are grateful for his efforts and contribution. The various designs represent an evolution in development of high value/low cost cnc technology. However, regardless of which design you choose you still need to purchase stepper motors, drivers, controller boards and so on. The latest design is the low rider 3 and this is the design I would recommend.

The size options refer to the outer diameter of steel tubing such as electrical metal conduit or stainless steel tubing.