New to this

I’m new to this. I have been doing controls and motion control for a long time, but I’ve always used commercial products and software. I am trying to make a Zen table. I have all the parts printed, assembled and wired. I’m using a RAMBo 1.4 controller. I have power on the system, and I don’t know what to do. Help please…

Did you flash the firmware to the rambo? Or did Ryan (I’m not sure if he flashes ZXY firmware.

Do you have 3D printer experience? It’s similar to.most other Marlin builds, without all the hotend stuff.

You’ve got to make sure things are working next, as there are a lot of mistakes you could have made (not just you, anyone). Don’t skip amy steps:

1. Connection: Can you use repetier host to connect to the controller via USB?

2. Motion: when you send X +10mm in repetier, does it move in +X 10mm? Same with Y. There is no Z

3. Endstops: type M119 in the terminal and make sure they say: Open when the switches aren’t pressed and “Triggered” when they are.

4. Homing: Home Y then X (is that right?). Each home should end in it stopping, without any crunching.

5. Limits: You should be at 0,0 where the home happens. Drive (using repetier) to the far corner and make sure you can get there. Write down the coordinates there. Thise are you max values in sandify.

6. Run some gcode: head over to sandify and play with it, making a simple pattern (something with just a couple of loops). Put in your min and max coords. In the starting gcode add something like G1 F600. The F is speed in mm/min, so 600 is 10mm/s or about an inch every 2.5 seconds. If you out that line at the top, the other moves will all be at that speed. Save the gcode, open it in repetier, and tell it to print. You should have your first pattern running.

If you have the LCD, you can instead put the gcode file on the sd card and use “print” to run the pattern.

I’m subscribed to this topic now, so ask away if you have questions. I get an email each time you do.