Newbie questions

Good day everyone.

Bare with me, I am very new to all this.

First off I would like to give a big thank you to V1ENGINEERING for all the efforts that have been put into making the CNC options affordable and buildable by individuals with a passion to create.

My back ground is in two dimensional design, primarily for the sign and graphics industry. I am wanting to use the Lowrider to take my creations to a new level. My plans are to create a universal table for plasma cutting, routing and I envision laser etching would be a realistic addition.

I am asking for the advise of the users in the software you use to create and prepare your files for output. I am sure the CAD business has very complicated design software and also less than useful options and a good full feature option may lie somewhere in between .

Thank you in advance for any advice. I am looking forward to my build and sharing my future creations with everyone.

Scott

1 Like

You can do the design in anything. The common formats for 2D or 2.5D (2D with varying dephts) are .dxf and .svg. I sort of think of .dxf as being more dimensional and .svg as being more art, but those are not real lines. I’m sure you’re familiar with illustrator and inkscape. Those work fine for .svgs. I also do a lot of work in onshape, and make the 3D object, then add a sketch to one side, mark all the features and export the sketch as a .dxf. That’s more for making something like a bookshelf. For making signs, I think illustrator/inkscape would be ideal.