No one uses Sketchup?

I’m very new to all of this. I just finished building my MPCNC and got it to move using manual move tab on Repetier. I also started reading the post processing Fusion 360 thread. I take it that the process is

1. use CAD program of some kind (like modules in F360)
  2. Use something (post proc/plug-ins) to generate GCode
  3. Use Repetier Host to actually do the cutting.

So the two questions I have are:
A) I guess you can’t cut/mill from F360’s CAM module because it doesn’t understand Marlin?
B) Why is it that no one uses SketchUp to design things? I saw many Gcode plug-Ins for Sketchup. Is it because the GCode it produces isn’t 100% compatible with Repetier Host??

Or an alternative may be: Use pro version of SketchUP and export as DFX files. Then use Estlcam, export to Repetier and cut.

Thanks for putting up with a newb.

Hansang

1. or just load in on an SD card and run it from an LCD. Nothing special just gcode delivery almost any program can do this.

a)As far as I know fusion does not have a controller, does it? That would be cool. I am just starting to use it, so I am not sure but I will look into it tomorrow.

b)Personal preference I guess. I use Solidworks, onshape, and fusion 360 for CAD. If you are just getting started fusion is pretty amazing it has all the tools I have ever needed. Cad, Cam, Mesh, Rendering, best price out there. I am slowly transitioning over. I am very fast with solidworks but it puts a major dent in your wallet yearly…Now that I don’t have free access to it I have to get fast with another program. I did some public projects in sketchup, the interface and workflow is very foreign to me. The three I just mentioned are very similar, sketchup is very different.

a) Fusion does not have controller.

I use sketch up sometimes but I like onshape the best. I use estlcam to generate the gcode.