Noob with a few questions

Hello everyone.

I found this project by searching for 3D printed CNC. I’ve been wanting my own CNC for years, as I am a mechanical designer with extensive knowledge of 3D modeling, and I’m always building DIY projects, as well as having access to a 3D printer.

My main questions are…

1. Is this system able to produce fairly tightly toleranced parts with consistency once set up properly?

2. Are larger versions any good?

3. I have watched a lot of videos that show peoples first cuts and such, but I am wondering how many people are regularly producing good CNC parts on this thing, particularly ones with some depth to them, complex carving, etc. I can’t find many examples of this. At most I saw a guy that has made a few picture frames.

Thanks,
Ben

Glad to hear it caught your eye.

You didn’t give much info to go on.

1. What do you consider tight tolerances, and in what material specifically? The shorter you make it the tighter it is. Wood and plastic, It is as good as I could imagine anyone needing in these materials. PCB’s depend on your experience cutting them, Usually better to laser etch the mask, aluminum good enough for the parts I’ve made.
    2)Any Good for what? Larger machines aren’t expected to hold as tight of tolerances as small ones. Kind of a conflict with #1.
    3)I use mine for milling printer frames and printing parts for the kit, all day everyday.

Hi V,

Thanks for the reply. I guess I could rephrase it by asking… What sort of tolerances does the standard sized MPCNC hold compared to a 3D file?

Also thought of another question: Do the CAD files exist in any other format other than STL? I like to model everything in Solidworks before I build something like this, and I may end up with some small tweaks to the files, which is not possible with STLs.

Thanks,
Ben