Noooo, my Rambo 1.4 USB

Hello,

Finally made my first cut with my LR2 using a V Bit and it went great.

I have been so cautious with all the cables not dragging: using the Hackaday measuring tape solution; hanging the router cable from a shock chord attached to a hook in the ceiling; etc. All working great.

Then was moving the gantry along the Y and whilst concentrating on that hadn’t noticed the USB cable (between Rambo board and laptop) had been pulled taught and had put too much stress on the USB terminal on the board. It is now seriously loose/wobbly and is out of straight. What a schoolboy error! :roll_eyes:

That’ll be a weak point now, so I have some questions that I would be very grateful for advice on:

1. Is this something that a computer tech guy would find easy to install/solder on a new one?

2. Is this a simple fix that even a total newbie could remove and solder on a new one (this newbie has zero experience in soldering! But there’s always a first for everything, and love to learn!)

3. I would like to stay away from having to use Repetier Host and a USB connection between the LR2 and a laptop. Although I know there are less options when running off the SD card, do any of you guys use the SD option instead?

4. If I go the SD route, which is the best way to add gcode such as the much needed “G92 X0 Y0 Z0” to a file that comes out of ESTLcam. So far I have had to add that code manually in Repetier Host.

Thank you very much for your time and advice!

I run my MPCNC off an SD card. My biggest frustration was navigating electronically. It is cumbersome from the LCD interface. I ended up adding a pendent to simplify the process. There is also provisions in later versions of the Marlin firmware for directly connecting a joystick.

• If I go the SD route, which is the best way to add gcode such as the much needed “G92 X0 Y0 Z0” to a file that comes out of ESTLcam. So far I have had to add that code manually in Repetier Host.