Novice to CNC

Hey Guys… I am a total newbie to CNC. I have never worked on any CNC equipment or created any. I recently got myself a dismantled MPCNC kit of used parts. I followed Ryan’s step by step instructions and managed to re-assemble it together without any issue. I also got the Crown plotted successfully.

The controller is MKS v1.30 with Marlin v1.1.9 & LCD is configured with Auto Square feature for X and Y axis. When I turn it on, it displays MPCNC v2 and everything seems to be working fine mechanically. I can home X and Y and move the axis. As for the Z axis is programmed to home at +5 and the travel is limited to -20.

I tried to connect EstlCAM to my controller using the Arduino options but no luck, but I can connect using CNC.js and Pronterface.

I created a simple rectangular panel milling using Fusion 360 (also newby) and exported the G-Code and uploaded it into Pronterface and when I run it the Z axis starts to move down and if I don’t power the CNC OFF it tries to dig itself into the workboard which is a 3/4 inch MDF.

I later found Guffy’s PostProcessor and used to export the G-Code from Fusion and the issue I seem to be having is it complains about G21 unknown command? Which I beleive relates to changing the mode to mm but my Fusion settings are already in mm.

I hope someone can shed some light on

Many thanks,

1 Like

The G21 error is a red herring. It will just keep cruising after that.

Not connecting with estlcam is normal. We use it for cam, and just export the gcode, like you are doing with fusion.

Pronterface can control the printer, but IIRC, it has trouble printing if there are no extrusions in the file. Pronsole works. So does repetier host.

The digging into the work is probably because the origin isn’t set right. You need to set the zero position on your workpiece in the CAM and also in the firmware.

Welcome. Good job making it to the crown.

Thank you for your reply and the tips. I modified the height settings and tested again.