Octoprint

I decided to try and get my machine running with octoprint. That runs on raspberry pi and allows for remote management of 3d printers. After many hours of beating on the software to get it to enjoy wifi, I can remote in to my cnc, move the axis and watch whats going on with a web cam.

However the machine fails when I tell it to start a print. Got any ideas?-

video of it sorta working https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=19PAKMNG6BY

I only used octo once about a year ago, so I have very little experience. is it a data transfer thing? Could you load the sliced files on a microSD and run the local files from octo, or maybe that’s what your doing? Sorry Just a complete shot in the dark.

I have been using Octoprint to run my Printrbot for the last 7 months. It is a basic print server that allows sliced programs to be loaded to it and print. It would be awesome to be able to run the cnc with it rather than dedicating a pc.

There are also cheap SD/LCD controllers that can be hooked directly to the Ramps Board.
That’s way simpler than dedicating a Pi or a full featured PC to run autonomous prints.

Popping in to say I have been using octoprint (specifically octopi the premade raspberry pi image) and it is working flawlessly with my MPCNC and arduino mega with ramps 1.4.

Not sure what issues you guys are having but figured I would report that it can work.

I also use the Pi image of Octoprint for both for my 3D printer and MPCNC and it works very well (except the GCode Viewer on MPCNC). I like it because of the plugins, especially custom control and custom command that allow you to bind either snippets of gcode or system commands to a button on the interface. Saves a ton of tedious typing in the terminal. Also love the print history plugin, that’s very handy.