offset, or disable soft endstops?

Hey guys,

I’ve been using my mpcnc for a couple of months now, and absolutely love the things I can do with it. I likely should have bought a jigsaw years ago, or possibly a scroll saw (but never had space to dedicate to such a machine). Anyway, love the machine. The only problem I’m running into, is the soft endstops built into Marlin. Basically, it doesn’t want to go to -X or -Y. This would not be a problem, but I’ve recently started doing multi-layer carves, and for that it’s best to design each layer as a separate SVG, because for some reason Estlcam doesn’t seem to like bringing separate SVG’s in beside each other. For whatever reason, I bring the first SVG in, then import a second, and it always seems to rescale the first one. So instead, I load the top layer, set toolpaths, then load the bottom layer, and set separate toolpaths. Again, fine, but when I bring these two separate SVG files in separately, it’s best not to have to move the 0,0 point on the carve, because there isn’t really a good way to ensure it will end up in the same place on both layers. Unfortunately, Estlcam sets the 0,0 right at the border of the drawing, so trying to cut out the design, it always seems to ride inside the left and bottom edges of the drawing, rather than being outside the object. Sorry about the long lead-in. So my question: is it better to allow negative movement by disabling the soft endstops, or is there a way to add an offset of some sort to your start code, so the machine knows where it actually is (I never place my workpiece actually at 0,0 on my table) and while keeping this actual placement in mind, knows your workpiece offset, and sets an imaginary 0,0 to work from? As I said, I’ve only been at this a few months, and I’ve really only messed with basic functions so far… Any help you could offer would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!