Open-Source Low-Cost Enclosure & Sled

Hi!
I built a Lowrider a few months ago and realized that the amount of dust that it releases is absurd (especially with MDF). While I am fixing the dust collection system, I decided to make a enclosure that prevents any sawdust from leaving. I did a few test cuts with this and found it extremely successful for keeping the dust confined to within the enclosure and the ground below the machine. As a high school student, my budget was quite limited for the project and I wanted to make it as cheap as possible, so I used Fusion 360 to model a enclosure that was 3D printed and used PVC pipes, PVC fittings, and plastic sheets (the ones typically used for painting). For about ~$75, I created this enclosure and I made it open-source!
If anyone is interested in remixing/adapting the design for their own CNC, go ahead! I’ve published .step, .stl, ,f3d, etc. to make it as easy as possible. Here is the thingiverse number… thing:4905685.

Let me know if you have any suggestions or feedback!
Thanks,
Vedansh

13 Likes

HI,

What a great idea! I’m currently building a Primo and might consider something like this.
A cool addition could potentially be another PVC pipe that gets fixed to the bottom of the front flap of the plastic cover. This would allow you to neatly roll up the front cover.

Thanks for sharing!

1 Like

Looks really good and made from commodity parts. Thanks for sharing.

1 Like

Neat idea, do you have any concerns about fire?

Trapping a bunch of airborn dust in an enclosed space with a potential flame source would worry me. be sure you run your dust collector to keep the airborn dust down.

May also want to do a flame test on a bit of the plastic. It will definitely melt but hopefully not act as an accelerant.

Its one thing to have a small table fire and something else to have a fireball in your garage.

1 Like