ORAMASK 813 vs Drawer Liner vs Green Tape

So I am still learning this stuff but a long time ago I watched this video on painting signs.

I bought some ORAMASK 831 and it seemed to work well. Even off amazon it is expensive (although I have not done a lot of cost analysis). I used the technique in the video to do this sign. Worked great. I don’t think you can use any type of up-cut bit. I used a 90 degree vbit. It looks better is real life but you get the idea.

Somewhere I saw someone trying using tack drawer liner that you get at the dollar store. To me works pretty good. I am still testing.

In addition, because I ran out during testing I used some green tape to fill it. I can say it does not work as good. See pictures and final result.

Green tape issues…

Final with simple touch ups…

7 Likes

After seeing your results with the drawer liner (which is something I used to use to transfer vinyl but have recently switched to transfer tape) I’m wondering if this transfer tape will work:

Not sure how much the drawer liner costs per square foot, but this stuff comes out to about $0.32 per sq ft. come to think of it, I think the drawer liner would be cheaper. Now I’ll just run out and grab some shelac after work today and I’ll run some more tests tonight/tomorrow with paint.