Parts requiring the most stiffness?

This whole fiasco with Tom inspired me to get started on my burly upgrades and finally get this thing cutting aluminum. I had some glass fiber reinforced nylon that failed QC from the company that I work for and I figured I might as well use it for some MPCNC parts. It was really bumpy filament but I got it to print and I think it turned out pretty good.

2 Likes

If I have enough to get through both of the XYZ parts what should be the next priority for stiffness?

Hmmm, good question. Tool mount I guess. Cool looking fuzzy parts!

1 Like

Ok, any other suggestions? I’m not going to attempt any of the larger parts but I haven’t had too many jams so I might still be able to finish a few more parts. I was thinking probably feet next? The feet in the parts list are definitely different than my 529 feet.

2 Likes

If you’re planning to do more printing you might want to think about drying out that nylon.

I have no personal experiences so take this with a grain of salt but I’ve heard it from a number of 3d printing sources.

Apparently Nylon is super hygroscopic to the point where it can suck enough moisture out of the air in a few hours to cause printing problems. Apparently a high moisture content causes cavitation in the hotend as the heat evaporates the moisture from the filiment causing small voids and a fuzzy texture sometimes lots of stringing.

Again I don’t have personal experience, but it’s worth looking into :slight_smile:

1 Like