PCB Isolation Milling

Decided to try something I’ve never done before since I’ve only ever operated manual mills in the past.

I tried a double-sided PCB… I had quasi-success due to a problem with my alignment holes during the design process. I also messed up the math a little bit for the effective diameter of the V-groove engraving tool that I used, so wasn’t getting quite as wide a cut as I meant to.

Anyway, it was 7 operations with one tool change and one manual operation. The only reason I had a manual operation is because I don’t currently have a way to use my tiny drill bits with the DW660, so just did shallow pilot holes with the machine. The DW660 is a disappointingly limited tool in terms the shank sizes it accepts. Has anyone come up with a clever solution for adapting different collets for the 660? I may end up making my own, but it’s a lot of work I’d prefer to not do if someone has already solved the issue.

I’ve added pictures of each operation along with a few of the mounting and flipping. I learned a lot doing this. It was fun.

Well that impresses the heck out of me. Looks like one you get this dialed in a tiny bit more you we be able to easily whip out some dual sided PCb’s. I love it, I have a blank board ready for a project but nothing has come up yet.

In my little pcb test vid I did the same thing and underestimated the vbit size, or maybe the actual angle, I forget now.

Any suggestions for the easiest pcb software for the beginner?

Thanks, I was pretty excited for it being a first run. I can’t believe how much time I’ve taken trying to do math for effective diameter, and I’m never 100% certain that I’ve done it right.

Software-wise, I have had the best results with Fritzing for the design portion (very easy, intuitive), and FlatCAM for the toolpath and G-code generation (easy, but not terribly intuitive). Both totally free.