Pepakura

Anyone cutting Pepakura files in paper or foam? I’m having some success, lets talk…

I was using pepakura some years ago. loking forward to see setup and maby to try to cut.

My MPCNC bed is 950mm x 480 mm. For paper I’m printing on 22 x 28 card poster paper from Staples. I ran the paper through a color plotter to get the template image on them. You can skip this step and just cut/burn the paper if you like. Then I set the poster board on the MPCNC and cut away. I’m using Inkscape to generate the Gcode and a laser to cut the template out.

I’m getting inconsistent burns on the fold lines. I think it might be because of the white paper. Also I’m learning that I have to join the segments in Inkscape for the Gcode to run correctly.

I bought a drag knife from the Vicious shop so I’ll give that a try when I get a chance.

If you’re building with 6mm EVA foam the laser does a great job. I’m new to foam so the learning curve is there but I can get the MPCNC to consistently give me what I want it to. Right now they’re a little off, but that’s my fault.
Eventually I want to try and 3d print on and pattern cut with a dremel before cutting the patterns out of the foam.

I finally had time to try this out and have successfully cut out a Master Chief Halo helmet.

The Pepakura file was from https://www.405th.com/forums/ by DANNIFOOD4LESS.

This is a picture of the helmet hand cut: (build before I had the MPCNC)

I’ll attach all the files I used. The paper was Staples 100 lb Card stock. The laser is the 100 dollar laser build IAW the guidance on this site.

If you want to print one, open the Inkscape file.

1. Open the layers panel, hide all the layers except Numbers and Registration and print that on your 100 lb paper.
  2. Put the printout on your MPCNC Laser work area.
  3. Put on your goggles.