Pre Build Advice

Just joined the forum after spending the last few weeks browsing. I’ll start with a little background about myself. I have a bachelors in mechanical engineering technology which gave my some experience writing G code as well as using mastercam, my background is mostly in CAD design (Catia & NX). The last few years I’ve dabbled in wood working and me and my wife started selling some projects here and there on the side.

I’ve been in the market for a while now for a CNC but was having a hard time justifying the cost of an X-Carve or Shapeoko. I stumbled upon a MPCNC on craigslist which stirred up my interest. Unfortunately that unit sold so now I’m working though everything I need to get for my first build.

I’m looking to do a 24in x 48in x 3in workspace, I understand I will need mid rail supports. I will be purchasing all of the parts since I don’t have a 3D printer. My biggest question is which board to buy, my understanding is it mostly depends if you are planning on running end stops? Should I just go for the basic control board? Get the board with the provisions for end stops incase I decide to add them later?

Here my current list of what I need to order or pick up:

• Parts Bundle (unsure on which control board to go with)
  • 23.5mm Printed parts
  • .75in EMT Conduit
  • Additional Belt
  • Dw660
  • E-Stop
Anything I am missing? I'm excited to place my order soon and get started on my build.

Thanks,

Dominick

You may want to look at the Low Riders instead, with that 48" axis. It’s sort of their raison d’etre.