Pre Build Question - Control Boards

Hello All. Great info in these forums and excuse me if this question is too basic for you guys. I am thinking about building the lowrider CNC version 2. I am very new to the makerspace world, I am a welder fabricator by trade very interested in the plasma CNC machines, and thought this would be a great project to start learning by doing. I spent a lot of time money and effort building a Maslow and am extremely disappointed, to say the least. I am curious why the lowrider kit does not use the Rambo 1.4. It seems like there are more options with this board to expand to in the future. Is it strictly a cost issue or are the added features unable to work with the lowrider?

Jimmy

Biggest reason is, I believe, the cost difference. The gain from a full sized Rambo is in the ability to attach another stepper (E1), which is not needed in the Low Rider design.

1 Like

What issues did you have with the Maslow? I am not sure it is all that different results wise, but I have never used one or kept up on there progress. Just trying to make sure these machines are capable of doing results up to your expectations.

Thanks Bill. I will go with the mini.