Primo going rogue in job

Hallo,
I am quite new with my Primo built. I use the F-version with an Arduino nano and cnc-shield. The cable prolongation I made myself.

Now to my problem (or problems as I have two which might be connected):

1. sometimes when jogging the axis will stop (in the last time its mostly the z-axis) and will only be able to move after I switch cables back and forth or restarted my computer.

2. The last two (and also my first) jobs ended in the router going rogue, going in crazy directions, so as the directions got lost…

Questions
a) when I touch the connection / cables I get “feedback” from the stepper, meaning maybe that the cables are not correct? Making sounds like “tak tak tak”
b) Could this be also attributed to the usb computer connection?

Need help as the Primo is currently not useable-

Thank you
Arne

What firmware code (marlin, GRBL, etc) are you running on the arduno?

Just a shot in the dark, but I’ve seen some similar issues on this forum traced to electrical noise. Do some dry runs (no milling) both with the router running and not running. If the problem occurs, see if rebooting the CNC shield without rebooting the computer solved the problem. Swap USB cables and see if that solved the problem.

Unrelated, but some (all) of the Nano versions of the CNC shield have a wiring issue with the microstepper jumpers. One side is wired to ground rather than 5V, so the board will only do full steps unless modified.

the reason for my question around firmware, is I have had problems with some versions of GRBL dealing with the arc gecode commands in a weird way that results in the machine going all over the place.
the solution was to tell the CAM software to not use arc commands in the g-code.

Hallo,
I use GRBL on the arduino Uno (clone),

Arne

Hallo Robert,

I will do some dry runs (as you call them) to see if I can mimik the odd behaviour…

Thanks
Arne