Problem with the 500Wspindle and Ramps 1.6 plus start to reset

Hi all, please help.

I have the following problem with the 500 w spindle and Ramps 1.6 plus:

When the spindle does not work, the MPCNC works perfectly, when the spindle is switched on, the ramps start to reset.

Уou can see here:

https://youtu.be/TT0fV4dbheU

My wiring schema:

I tried to feed Ramps with another 12V 6A power supply, like this:

The two power supplies were connected to different sockets, but the result was the same.

I’m just a hobbyist with electronics, but when I’ve had this kind of problem, my go-to solution is to add a capacitor. In this case, I’d put a capacitor between the screw terminals of the Ramps 1.6 board. Someone with more electronics education could probably give you better capacitor specification(s), but I would put on a 25V or better, 1000uf to 3300uf electrolytic capacitor.

1 Like

Or separate the lines mine are hung from above for the spindle stopped the problem for me :grinning:

If you had an oscilloscope and could see the waveform coming out of the spindle power supply you would understand why these spindles are so noisy electrically. Isolate the spindle power supply and wiring as much as possible from any and all control wiring, even going as far as using shielded cables to the spindle. Definitely do not cable wrap the spindle power wiring with the Z stepper wires :-).

1 Like

Hi guys, thanks

I will try everything, but I will start with the easiest.

I wrapped the cables very well, all the way. I don’t have oscilloscope.

I have a few questions because I know what the board does, but how it does is magic

Robert is that what you mean ?

Is 25V capacitor suitable for 12V power supply? (Question from a layman)

Could any of these do the job?