Reliable GNU gcode generator?

hey

I am new to the CNC thing. Usually I am designing with rhino

and I am looking for a gnu gcode generator where I can put stls in

an configure my tool to mill with.

Is there some software alike Slic3r for cnc?

kind regards

Estlcam.

Well Estlcam is not on a gnu license nor free

You can run it for free. I’ve not seen a gnu cam application worth using yet.

You’re looking for CAM software, which will help you search.

I haven’t looked too closely at it. I’ve seen Linux CNC (and MachineKit, which is a fork). bCNC can do some simple CAM. Simpler than STL is CAM using dxf or svg files. I’m really not sure what FOSS can do 3D CAM.

I use Linux on my machines and I’m surprised I haven’t really fought to learn this. If you find something, let me know. I use EstlCAM in wine.

Found this list and looked into a couple of programs.

https://metalab.at/wiki/CNC

I checked two of them out on win7.

http://www.gcad3d.org/

Both look complex and have CAD included. I cant really tell if they are good but I think they are worth a look. They are both open Source and free for non-commercial use.

I have to try out gCAD3D. Didn’t know about that one.

I started with HeeksCAD/CAM. It was no picnic getting it to compile on Debian jessie. Once I upgraded to stretch it doesn’t work any more and I don’t get it to compile. Although I haven’t given it much time as HeeksCAD is OK for simple things, but I never warmed up to it. Sometimes it just hangs for a minute or two when things get more complex. And I never managed to go beyond 2.5d milling although it supposedly should support this.

At the moment I use FreeCAD and pycam for 3d milling STL files. Although both are far from perfect.