Relocate X and Y Steppers to the Corner Mounts

I am sure the question has been asked before but i couldn’t find it searching the forum.

Why are the X and Y steppers on the rails that move? It works but it makes cable management a lot harder to get right. If the Steppers were moved to the Left and Back corner mounts then the cable management would be easier.

Pros to the change:

• Easy cable management (No moving wires for X and Y steppers.)
  • Less weight for the motors to move have to move around.
  • Less Hardware required. A stepper and a single idler bearing per side instead of the current two idler bearing setup.
  • Fewer parts to print. (possibly )
Cons to the change:
  • Would require twice the timing belt length. (but it won't stretch so there isn't an accuracy problem.)
  • Would require more specific designed parts instead of printing multiple copies of the same corner pieces.
I am a software developer not an engineer so they be some other reason I don't know about. But I love to tinker. I am still building my first MPCNC. Almost done. I love the design and I am extremely impressed with it. Hats off to Ryan and all the work put into this. When you introduce someone new they can't help but to have a fresh opinion. I am already thinking through possible 2.0 design changes I would like to try if I get the chance. Please feel free to tell me if any of these are bad ideas so I don't waste time in the future.
  • Move the X and Y Steppers to the corners.
  • Redesign the Corners so the legs stick up through the assembly as high as I want.
    • So the Z axis can be customized higher or lower for project need. Most of the time will will keep my Assembly low so i only have about 1.5 inches of clearance. But on occasion I may want to work on something that is 6 to 8 inches thick. I know you will say Drop table. But why custom build a table to match my changing height needs if it were easier to just loosen the corners and slide them up the conduit?