Repetier CNC plugin question

Hi everyone! Our makerspace bought a MPCNC kit and were all very impressed with the thoroughness of the design. And then we got to the control side of things.

I have a lot of background in creating the g-code, so no troubles there, but using the repetier host software with the cnc plugin didn’t work the way all the other cnc’s I’ve ran to run the g-code. We meet once a week and didn’t have much time to play with the software as we spent much of the night finishing up the build, but when we got it running, we were not able to zero the readouts nor could we input a value.

So my question is were we doing something wrong in the software and we’ll figure it out at our next meeting? Or does that software not work that way? We did get it moving and even used the 3d side of things to simulate a 3d print and it worked fine. It even moved the z axis up for next print layer.

Here’s an example of what I want it to do : I want to be able to jog to a position “X, Y, and Z” and set zero on the control software screen for all 3.

Hi Ed,

one thing, I have in mind, is that the Marlin FW need to provide the G-Codes for switching between relative and absolute coordinates… And the G30 must be configured for single probing…
The other thing I’ve seen regarding the plug in is, that it doesn’t seem that the developer spent much time in improving/bug fixing of the plugin over the past two years.
The good news, the plugin comes with C# sources, so, because I’m a software engineer, it might be possible to proceed and enhance the plugin for the need we have… The software it self is under Creative Common licence, so there’s no blockers…
I’m currently limited with my time, so I haven’t had a closer look to it, but once I (hopefully) get finished my MPCNC, I’ll have to have a deeper look on the plug in and set up the development environment and try to recompile the plugin… If this works, I’ll be able to make changes…

Cheers,
Juergen