Sandify CLI

Hi all!

I just started a Sand Table build and would like to control the full experience from my phone. I have a lot of experience building games and building tools for game development, but wanted to try out something new as a hobby. Sand Table it is! After a lot of research I found Sandify! I was pulling my hair out on how to properly generate GCode that supports a SCARA (which is what I will be building) bot without going neck deep into Firmware land, but then found the conversion to “goofy” XY code approach which made a lot of sense to me.

Now what I am interested in, is running Sandify CLI to essentially convert Cartesian configured GCode to “Goofy”/Polar GCode. This would allow me to feed any supported GCode through the converter, and directly pass that onto UGS>GRBL all with the press of one button.

Has anyone here managed to run Sandify CLI yet? If so, any pointers?

PS: I know its a bit overkill to do it using Sandify since it can do a whole lot more than function as a converter, but the benefit is that I don’t have to write all sorts of support like .thr, .nc, etc! Just make use of the already amazing work that has been done and potentially contribute back to the project!

Cheers!
Paul

2 Likes

Welcome Paul!

Sandify is a beast, written in javascript, very interconnected with it’s front end. The frameworks are react, redux, and react-bootstrap. We made very little effort to make the math reusable. It is pretty embedded into sandify.

But, hope is not lost. The goofy scara stuff started as a python script, and wasn’t incorporated into sandify until I had a few people asking for it. The original math, and code to convert from thetarho to goofy gcode is here:

Theta rho is the format created by Bruce Shapiro for the sisyphus machines. Theta is the angle of the arm. Rho is a normalized (0 to 1) radius value for the distance from the center.

You asked for gcode to goofy gcode though. Let me tell you why thetarho is easier for this.