Silver-Themed First MPCNC - Self Sourced $300 USD

Hey guys!

EDIT: This is now a build post since I have gathered most of the info I need

I’ve been working with 3D printers for a couple years, and am reasonably familiar with wiring and hardware, but I’m lacking in the Marlin firmware and CNC department. From my reading on here and based on the amount of posts on MPCNC vs Lowrider section, I think the MPCNC is more beginner friendly and has been through more iterations? I’m looking to primarily cut wood, but maybe aluminium sometimes. I’m in Australia and I think I will buy the kit and flat parts from Ryan, and print the parts myself (Sidewinder X1). I’ve seen how Teaching Tech added endstops and changed some things in the firmware for the LowRider, so I’m wondering if endstop mounts are built into the MPCNC and its firmware? How much harder is it to operate the machine without these? I’d like to cut out mostly smaller things that would easily fit into the 0.6x0.6m recommended build size of the MPCNC, but I’m also looking to sometimes cut out some bigger things like a skateboard deck. Would it be worth building the LowRider for that reason?

Thanks in advance for the help and sorry if any of this is completely wrong!

Obviously I would only be buying the flat parts if I go with LowRider. My bad

This is a big step. You are familiar with thinking in 3D and understand coordinate systems. The firmware of Marlin for the MPCNC and Lowrider are all mature and should give you no problem, especially if you buy a pre-flashed board from Ryan. It isn’t that difficult to flash the firmware if you get a standard board.