Sir Name Banner Engraving

Got an odd situation. I took a vector piece of artwork and cleaned it all up in Illustrator. I then exported as a DXF file and opened it in estlCam. Everything looks fairly good but when watching the animation of the cut it has a few parts where the bit lifts up, dives back in, and does that a few times. No real noticeable cutting on my test but I don’t understand why it’s doing that. I’ve attached both the .e10 file as well as the .nc file if anyone would care to take a look.

Winegarden Crest - Banner Only-try 2.zip (593.6 KB)

I am no expert, but let me take a swing at it. I have three points to make. The first being the most important.

Side note: I had to upgrade to the latest version of Estlcam to open your file.

#1 - VCarve

Personally, when I VCarve, I notice the same behavior. It appears that, generally speaking, Estlcam will carve the majority of something, then, near the end, go back and make these little touch up’s in the “corner of objects”. They do in fact kinda look like little up and down motions. Typically, they are noticeable on the material. Meaning, you do seem them taking out material.

However, I have seen the case where they are so tiny or small, I think “what is it doing? is it confused? why is it moving but not cutting”. My assumption (and I think experience) is that depends on the depth of cut being done. If your depth of cut is small, I think these little touch ups look like they are doing nothing on the material (and may in fact do next to nothing).

In your case you have a depth of cut of 5mm. Which is big. But you have a maximum width of 3.18mm. Because of that, I think your DOC becomes uncertain potentially. I don’t think it ends up being 5mm. It probably is much much less and the little touch ups look like they do nothing and may do nothing.

#2 - Paths