SKR Pro 1.2 firmware/software MPCNC

Hello, I have recently hooked up my SKR Pro 1.2 to the stepper motors and I am hoping to see that everything is correctly connected. I hope to test the steppers to ensure that they are working and I am also trying to figure out what exactly I need to do in order to get to some CNC carving. Currently, I have everything (including the TFT 35-E3 display) connected. I am seeing the message of “no printer connected”. After reading through some of the boards, I am becoming more and more confused as to what exactly my next steps are. Here are my questions:

Please be aware that I am a complete newb to all of this, any explanations may need to be put into layman’s terms as I am not versed in any sort of programming, software, hardware, etc.

1. Is there any further flashing/installing of software onto the SKR Pro 1.2 besides what came already flashed as I had purchased through the V1 website? From what I gather, I cannot simply hook up the board, motors, display, etc., and get to carving even with having Marlin pre-installed.

2. How would I go about testing the stepper motors to ensure that everything is setup correctly? Once everything is hooked up correctly and the firmware/software installed, is there a simple way I can test the motors to ensure that they are working properly?

3. What would be a recommended software to use for creating and editing designs that will eventually be sent to the MPCNC to be carved on a budget? I am looking for a simple carving program that will allow me to carve on the MPCNC without a steep learning curve.

4. Should I consider purchasing a PC? I currently have a MacBook Air and I am running into many issues with certain softwares not working with Mac. I would prefer to do things without constantly looking for a Mac work-around that further complicates the process.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!!