Some pre-build questions

Hello all,

Been lurking around the website for about two weeks now after finding an instructable that credited the original designer and lead me here. This project seems to check all the boxes for what I have been searching for as a hobby. I am a student majoring in Computer Science, and I have an interest in making things but haven’t been able to find a solution to meet any or all of my possible purposes (as in, 3d printers, laser engravers, and the like can be bought as a kit or built, but they usually only serve their primary function; there are mods to make to them, and I was ultimately set on getting a Maker Select Plus as it is a cost effective, proven machine with a strong community, and it had printable mods to attach a laser module).

After finding this build, and its ability to perform 3d printing, laser engraving, and milling or any general purpose CNC work (plotting is the main one here), I have been reading every article, instruction, and browsing the more recent pages of MPCNC forum posts to try and work out a plan before getting started on anything.

In short, after months of research and deciding to potentially get a 3d printer at some point, finding this build and its multipurpose functions seems to be what I was looking for. To top it all off, to read some of the press coverage on the MPCNC and to hear that Ryan is from San Diego (though sadly not anymore as he mentions San Francisco) was pretty cool. Aside from that, it’s a good all around project for experience with electronics, woodworking, hardware, milling, etc. I’m sure all of this has been said before (I think I have seen it here from people doing the same thing).

Here’s my problem: I have been cross-referencing the assembly list with the parts packages in the store (as I am trying to build a 24" square build area machine using the fairest priced parts I can source), and seem to be stuck. In the store’s included parts, you have

1 T8 Leadscrew
1 Brass T8 Nut