Spindles and cutter

Hello I’m new to the whole CNC world. I just ordered the kit to begin my build. What is the largest cutter for flatting and spindle size in kw that will that work on the low rider.I want to go with a spindle and not a router (noise) I building one to work on live edge wood. Oak, Maple, Walnut. I want to flatten and then carve on it. Slabs are 2.5 to 3.5 inches thick.
Thanks for any advice.

1 Like

In terms of physical size, the “finishing routers” like the Dewalt and Makita are most common. To use a larger router you simply need to adapt the mount plate design.

In terms of mass, I have used a 3 kg full-size router without issue but more weight means more work for all of the steppers to move around that mass and its inertia. I’m much happier with my little Makita.

In terms of power, that’s up to your power supply.

For flattening I use a 40 mm slotting mill that does the job nicely and quickly.

The noise from the small finishing routers isn’t bad. Most of the noise comes from the integrated cooling fan blades. If you use a vacuum it will be much louder.

1 Like

First welcome aboard. I think you’ll have a lot of fun here and with your new cnc when it gets going.

Short of enclosing everything, the cnc’s going to make noise one way or another. Less is less granted but it’s never going to be quiet. I’d be surprised if there weren’t some sound level tests comparing 611 vs spindle to give you something more empirical. We all seem to like details and info around here so I’m sure someone’s covered it in the hobby cnc space. The trim routers are cheeeeep!