Table/wasteboard

I am brand new to the world of mpcnc. I have started procuring my hardware a little at a time and I am just over 53 hours into printing the parts. Not in a rush to complete this, yes i am, but I also want to do my homework while i play the waiting game. The goal is to mainly use my machine for CNC wood, and maybe put my wife’s cricut maker to shame. My main question is about the spoilboard and the pros and cons of a slotted style vs a perforated top . TIA

I built my MPCNC with a perforated top rather than a slotted top. The reasons for this were:

1. The costs of the rails for making a slotted top are extortionate here in the UK.
  2. I would have to either make a series of channel in the board OR built it up around the channels. I had no confidence in my abilities to do it properly.
  3. Using holes and T-Nuts was easy and cheap.

I can buy these

for £9.

I needed to do four operations for each hole:

1. A small pilot hole (2mm) from the front to the back at 50mm square intervals across the whole board. I used the CNC machine to do the holes in the cutting area and then extended the holes to the non cutting area by use of a large ruler. Having the CNC doing the initial holes means that the rows are parallel to the X axis which is important for me.

2. I turned the spoil board over and I then drilled a 25mm hole, using the pilot hole created, approx 2mm deep on the back to accommodate the backing plate of the T-Nut.

3. I then turned the spoil board back over again and drilled a 8mm hole from the front to the back to let the T-Nut slot in.

4. I then countersunk the front hole with a countersink drill that appears to be made from chocolate.

Given I had circa 200 nuts to do, that’s a lot of drilling, over 800 operations and at the end of it I hated the board, BUT it works well.

Rob

1 Like