Tachometer for spindle

I just got a 500W spindle and am working on getting it set up on my MPCNC. I’m also in the middle of upgrading all the parts on the MPCNC, which is an early model, so I still have a way to go before I’m actually cutting with it.

Anyway, I’m thinking about building an arduino-based tachometer for the spindle, but wanted to check and see if anyone has done it already, or is aware if someone else has done it already.

I plan to use some kind of optical sensor mounted to body of the spindle, pointing at the cooling fan at the top of the spindle. I’ll put a piece of reflective tape on the cooling fan, and have the arduino calculate the rpms from that. I’ll use a 2004 lcd to display the rpms. The spindle can turn up to 12000 rpm, so I hope that this setup can handle that.

I’ve done a few projects with arduinos, but I’m still pretty new to them, so if you’re knowledgeable about them and have some ideas about how to approach this, please share your thoughts about this project.

I have also seen handheld optical tachometers on amazon for around $15. If one of those would work with this spindle, it would be easier than building my own. Not nearly as cool, but easier. If anyone has experience using one of these, please let me know.

12000 rpm is 200 Hz, which is 5ms/measurement. That should be fine on a dedicated arduino. You will want to make sure the sensor goes between low and high on the input pin, and either use the pulse in (might not be the right name) or an interrupt handler to measure it. The other thing working for you is that you don’t need to measure every pulse, just measure the time for one pulse, ten times or so, and then average them out. Then you can stop measuring, and go handle your LCD. The big advantage of an arduino (other than it’s cool, and you’ll learn a lot) is that you can then go the next step and control the speed of the spindle with closed loop feedback.