The easiest CAD software for a newbie is...

What is the easiest cad software to use for a complete beginner? I need to create some working drawings to mill parts. I have to create parts I can carve. These are interlocking parts that look like the picture.[attachment file=111282]

I’d just use Tinkercad, then export to stl.

1 Like

I draw in Autocad Architecture because I have it, I am used to it, and have been drawing in Autocad since back in DOS Days. That being said if I was presented with the task to draw those parts, and produce drawings as well as carve them, I would probably use Fusion 360. I am finding that the more I uses Fusion 360 the more I think it is better suited for use for this kind of thing. I am really thinking it will also be ideal for Assembly drawings. Just my opinion.

1 Like

I did a search on the subject about 3 years ago and found a few sources that said Onshape.com is the easiest CAD for a beginner. It is a web based program that you run in a browser. It is free as long as you don’t mind your work being public domain. You would watch a single training video on how to create Sketches then export them as … What are they called DXF files? That is assuming you need 2D drawings that you would later use a CAM program to cut from.

I have managed to do a lot and learn a lot in OnShape.com They have great tutorials and are easy to learn. I am now trying to switch to Fusion 360 because I want to get more advanced and I want to work on things that are not public. But OnShape has been a great beginner tool for me.

1 Like

I just tried Tinkercad. Made one drawing. How to export it into Aspire and turn it into a usable file is what I’m struggling with. Tinkercad was really easy once I figured it out.