The port COM1 does not exsist

Hello,

I’m new to the MPCNC world and am asking for help. I purchased the ramps board/driver/mega package from here (vicious), have a psu all configured and ready to go, installed repetier host on two different computers, but cannot get the host to connect and talk to my board.

I was dedicating an old laptop to my MPCNC machine and couldn’t get it connected, so I brought the board to my main computer where I am running a Printrbot Simple Metal with Cura controlling it to see if it was a laptop issue, but I keep getting the same message: “The connection failed with the following error: The port COM1 does not exisit. Make sure your printer is connected, enabled and connection data is set correct. Open printer settings?” I am probably doing something really bonehead, but cannot figure it out, so I’m asking for your help.

This forum has been a myriad of help to me and I’ve always been able to figure out what my issue is by searching and reading. Thank you in advance.

Are you sure that COM1 is what is being assigned to the Mega? There are two things you could check here:

1. Open the device manager (with the board plugged in), and check the Ports section to see if you can see the Arduino Mega. Check what COM was assigned.
  2. With the Mega plugged in, open the Arduino IDE and select the Mega board and see if it auto detects it from there.

You mentioned that you had installed Repetier Host, did you also install Repetier Server? R-Server could be controlling the port and not allowing access from anything else. If this is the case, kill the process in the task manager and try reconnecting in Repetier Host.

Bryan,

Thanks for your help, I am now able to talk to the board and have it recognized by repetier host.