Touchscreen UI for PID!?

Using these components (along with the PID circuit Ryan designed and the PWM AC dimmer) I plan to create a GUI to control the set point/mode of operation. So mission statement aside, this is how it will work:

1. Get the Pi talking to the display, I’ve accomplished this previously, just gotta dig out the diagram of how I had it wired.
  2. Set the display to mirror the hdmi out
  3. Build a website that utilizes Python to establish a Serial connection between the Pi & the nano.
  4. Modify Ryan’s code to also utilize the established Serial connection on the arduino side
  5. Eat cake.

I’m still waiting for some of the components to arrive, and I’m down some female headers atm but once I get everything in, I will start plugging away at it.
I worked as a web developer a lifetime ago, so hopefully it’s like riding a bike.

There are javascript packages to talk to the serial ports, but I think most browsers have killed that permission. The solution I see often is having a small program (lile in python) to talk to the serial port, and then open a web socket that javascript can talk to.

You could also go full python and use flask to just handle all the buttons as post requests and then do all the serial in one program.

Sounds like a fun project.

1 Like

Also, the tft from bigtreetech is a screen and a microcontroller all rolled into one. And it just talks over the serial to the skr. I see you already have the hardware and you are looking at web. But refactoring the screen code to do this might be easier.

1 Like

Will that screen work with other boards? Or standalone? I have a rambo v1.4 but your idea sounds so much more self-contained. If I go my route I’ll have to fab a pcb after I get everything worked out.

It literally connects to the skr via Tx, Rx, 5V and Gnd. There is an optional reset button. Everything else is flexible.