Troubleshooting a new ZenXY

I’m in the process of building my first Zen XY and I am fairly new to most of this stuff. I just got into 3D printing this year, and though I’ve been able to trouble shoot my switch to ramps 1.4 on my Anet A8, I can’t figure out what I’m missing here. I don’t doubt that it’s pretty simple but I just can’t find it.

The firmware will load to my ramps with no problem. I am trying to use a reprap discount smart controller (non-full graphics display style) and I can’t seem to get it to work. The display will light up and it will show two lines of faint blocks, but won’t show the start-up for the firmware. I’ve attempted to make changes to the config.h by enabling the display as well as making small changes here and there all to no avail. I’ve even tried switching the display plugs around a little as I know that was a problem with my full graphics display on my anet. Any advice on what to try next?

SmartController.jpg

Well obviously the problem is that you are holding it upside down! :wink:

Seriously, the problem is likely how you have config.h modified. Zip your version and upload it here so we can take a look at it.

2 Likes

HA! Nice catch, though I swear it’s not upside down, it’s actually mirrored due to my camera. :slight_smile:

Anyway… thanks for the thoughts. If you, or anyone else are willing, I think what would help would be to start with a fresh config.h and for me to learn what I need to change on it to get things to work properly. I’ve tinkered enough here are there that I think learning the correct way from scratch would help more than knowing how to fix the muddled mess I’ve made. Ideally I do want to use the SD card with it. I plan to have the table in my office at work and would like to keep a bunch of designs on a card rather than having to plug it in to my computer all the time.