Understanding Homing, and Display Readouts

Hello,

I’m new to MPCNC and the forums, so forgive me if my quick search failed to find answers!

I’ve been looking at buying an MPCNC kit for the last year, and as fate would have it, I recently acquired a FULLY BUILT MPCNC (thanks to MRRF2019 and a certain VERY active forum member :wink: :wink: ).

While it was great to get a unit ready to go, I kinda miss the learning that goes on when you build it yourself! Both my 3D Printers were build-from-kit, real Prusa i3 (MK2S now MK2.5 and a MK3).

The MPCNC is currently setup with an Ink pen plotter tool & a small Staples-brand whiteboard to allow for magnetically attaching paper for plots. It has the RAMBO 1.4 and the Full Graphic Smart Control Display. I’ve been successful in getting plots off of it, including 2 MPCNC selfies, the ubiqutous crown, and 2 custom logos run through multiple conversion programs and ESTLCAM.

Now for the questions & confusion:

1. When I power up the unit, I typically use the Marlin commands to Auto Home X and Y, and then I move the Z until the pen is barely not marking a piece of paper laying on top of the paper that I intend to use for the plot. I then go into the Custom Commands section and run Reset All Coordinates command. The unit beeps, and when I return to the main screen, I expected all three coordinate readouts to say 0, but the Z coordinate shows alternating 0 and ?.

Is this normal and why isn’t the Z=0? Also, is this the correct procedure before starting a job?

2. It appears that when you start a job, the firmware decides to call where-ever the tool is 0,0,0. Even though the G-code generated from ESTLCAM is using ABSOLUTE coordinate moves (G90 and lots of G00, G01, and G02 commands). Is that correct?