Uploading EstlCam firmware fail on atmega2560

First time poster here, so hello ! I am pretty new to cnc machine, but have a lot of experience with fdm and sla 3d printer and electronic in general.

I’m trying to upload the Estlcam (v11.235) firmware on an atmega2560 based board ( a trigorilla mainboard, originally from a 3d printer), but the upload always fail. The progress goes from 0 to 11%, then jump to 100%, then it just say it cannot communicate with the controller, no error or any other kind of message.

Uploading other firmware (original printer firmware, marlin, modified grbl for the 2560, ect) to the board using usb or an ISP programmer work fine, so at least I know the board is ok. Only the EstlCam firmware is giving me issue.

Anyone here has any experience with this ? Any pointer would be apreciated, since there is no message or log file (that I know of) I have no idea where to start debuging the issue. :sweat:

He does specify a Mega needs to have his pinouts. How close is your Mega to a real one?

Well…it is either the mainboard you have or the upload infrastructure you are using. I can program a clone Mega2560 board from EstlCam no problems.

Have you got an arduino mega2560 to prove your EstlCam upload hardware? I suspect this will end up with your trigolla board just not being compatible with EstlCam. (As @billsey suggests, It may well have a ‘Mega2560’ controller chip on board but it is not an Arduino Mega2560 board)

@dart1280 Yeah, I think its probably a weird compatibility issue, I have 4 mega laying around , 1 original and 3 clones and I can program all of them with Estlcam. What is bugging me is that the trigorilla board I am trying to program is bare, nothing is connected to it that could affect the upload.

Like I said, I can upload marlin and even program it using the arduino IDE and even avrdude by defining it as a mega2560. Estlcam seem to be the only program that refuse to upload to it.