Vectric V-Carve Help

A few weeks ago a customer at work I know gave me his 10+ year old laptop full of software he used to use for cnc since he no longer does it anymore. Most of it is completely useless to me as it was not for wood carving in a garage with a homemade machine. However, there is an old copy of Vectric V-Carve Pro installed on it that I’ve used to successfully cut out some vectors with the default 1/4" and 1/8" end mill settings for a few simple signs and everything turned out perfect.

The problem is:
This is my first attempt at carving a 3d toolpath.
When I run the simulation after making a 3D finish toolpath the simulation comes out with rough spiky spots all over it. It doesn’t matter if I use the default engraving bit or enter my own settings for my own carving bits the spikes just won’t go away. The model or method of creation don’t seem to matter and using the model smooth button has no effect either. I’ve even tried changing the stepover value. Nothing works. (I can upload pics if needed)

My questions are…
Are these spikes just visual limitations of the software that will not appear in the final product or are these going to be there if I run this code?
How do you avoid these spikes ruining your work and how do you deal with them before or after you’ve made something?
Is there any better software for 3d carving either free or paid?

I’ve tried contacting Vectric but because this is registered under the customers name and not to me they won’t help. This seems to be really good software and if I can figure out this issue I will definitely be buying it, not only for access to all the awesome clipart they have but so I can install it to another computer besides this slow a** POS laptop it’s on.

To make a sharp inside corner V bits are typically used and as they are lifted up during one of those spikes it leaves behind a sharp corner.

That is at least what I am imagining, I have never used V-Carve.

That’s not it. I’ve done that successfully.