Weight of the Y Plate

Newbie here. I am going to attempt to build a full sheet low rider for my cabinet shop in OKC. Read through much of the forum topics from 2020 and the latter part of 2019. Ordered everything that V1 had in stock, no bundles available, so I sourced the missing stuff from Amazon and a local Metal Depot.

So after reading about Y plates ad nauseum, I was wondering if making them out of 1/2" solid surface would be a good idea. I make countertops too so I have lots of scrap. The weight difference assuming a 230 mm x 130 mm Y plate blank (rough numbers from memory, I have yet to print out the PDFs but I will tomorrow) is about .87 of a pound per side

In return I get a really stiff, really durable, very hard surface. The thermal expansion is very low, about 1/8" in 12 foot for a significant temperature change (room temperature to freezing let’s say). and you aren’t going to have soft wood fibers crushing under the fasteners over time.

I am wondering though what the consequences will be adding a little less than one pound per side on the machine. Acceleration is going to be effected, more mass. Traction ought to be increased with the added weight. Over tightening the bolts isn’t going to happen, the bolts will stretch a bit and the pressure isn’t going to crush the wood fibers over time (cabinetmaker, yeah this is a problem in cabinets at times).

Good idea or a dumb idea?

Thanks in advance for any advice.

Worst case you can compensate by reducing Y acceleration. It’s hard to beat free materials…

2 Likes

I dont think it will be a big issue.

Welcome to the funhouse!