Which model should I order?

Hello All,

New to CNC and currently printing parts for this machine. I am a guitar builder and would like to try this machine for bodies/necks and fretboards. I am a novice with CAD in all aspects, so this is going to require a great deal of learning.

My question to you, which might sound stupid. Should I purchase the Rambo Series Wire Kit or the Dual Firmware Kit? I understand the dual firmware has stops, which I like the sounds up, but require more programming which in my case as a novice I’m afraid I might bite off more than I can chew.

I guess my stupid question is, during prints, I will likely be cutting outlines, and then neck pockets/pickup pockets, and then flipping the guitar and cutting control cavities on the back. Will the stops be an important/required feature when flipping pieces, or will I be fine with the Series unit?

Again, sorry if this is a totally stupid question, I can make a wicked guitar by hand but am really eager to learn CNC to speed up some of the process.

I’m in the same boat as you in terms of wanting to flip carvings to do both sides. I do not have the end stops but am confident after just a few weeks of playing with the machine that I’ll be able to get close enough for my needs with careful planning and thought in everything I do. I think it was/is recommended in the shop somewhere that if you are new to this (which I am), you should not use the dual end stops. Makes sense to me now, knowing what I know now. It’ll just make if/when I ever DO add them in that much more valuable.useful to me.

I’m not sure if dual endstops help with tool changes, but it will definitely help you to get things perfectly square.

Since squareness is extremely important for that kind of things, I’d say go for the dual endstops for sure.

There is no programming involved, you just need to download the correct firmware from Ryan, carefully follow the instructions and you should be good to go.